Talents

2 Aug

 

 

I had been on Crystal Lewis’ website…she had just had an new album come out…and I’ve just ordered it in her Metro One store on her website. Her daughter, Izzi Ray has an new album out as well. I’ve ordered the two CD’s together…I just can’t wait to listen to them. I just wonder what they have to say in their songs!

On Izzi Ray’s blog, she was discussing about using talents. It had grabbed my attention a  great deal. There was a lot of truth in what she was saying. She had said some things that made a lot of sense to me.

So, therefore…I want to say a few things about our talents. I don’t want to waste  what God has given me. And, I’m sure that God doesn’t want   us to waste it, either. But, I admit…I’ve pretty much not used what God had given me in a while.

I’ve been preoccupied with making extra money…til, I’ve just totally weaned myself of the things that I used to do. I used to  struggle with coveting after  what other people had, and, I used to look to others…and had seen what they had, and , I’d wanted what they had.

So, I would go out, and spend money…and had bought more of what I already had. I wasn’t content with what I had. I had wanted more.

On  ‘Fearless’, Crystal Lewis’ album…she sang a song titled ‘Satisfied’. In the inscription of her album, she had written a scripture that was in (Philippians 4:11-Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatever state  I am, therewith to be content.) I used to not be content.

  That scripture used to seem hard to grasp. It had seemed out of reach, in a way. But, now…I understand it, and I now feel that I can abide in it.  

 

I used to lack a great deal of will-power when it came to money. Money used to master me. Money had in a way held me captive. I was into making clothes…, and appearing different.

Also, there was a time in my life when I used to resent being different.  I had hated not being like everybody else that I’d known and had attended school with. Most of all, I used to feel inferior toward those whom were noticed, and were considered popular. I’d felt inferior because, I didn’t have what others had.

I never  got straight “A’s” in school, I’d never made the honor  roll…,nor was I a math whiz. I wasn’t much of an athlete…, but, yet I’ve managed to have won 4th place in track and field. I’ll admit, I would have rather gotten 1st place…but, things weren’t so promising.

My life has not been paradise….but, I can only do what I can with it.

 

Leave a Reply

